A Better Way to Live

I found another Og Mandino book (Two, actually) this past weekend and I’ve already dived in. I love his books. They are easy to read, but very powerful and chock full of nuggets of wisdom related to our attitude and perspective. This one is called A Better Way to Live!

It starts off as a bit of an autobiography about Og and he gives us a tour of his personal office. He describes all of the memorabilia and awards he has accumulated and it’s quite fascinating! And then he gets into his 17 Rules to Live By, which is what this post is about.

Rule #1 is to Count Your Blessings. Something that I needed to be reminded of today, because I’ve been playing the PLOM game for the past few days, that Zig Ziglar talks about. (PLOM = Poor Little Old Me) Last Friday, my car wouldn’t start. I had it towed to my mechanic, while also asking him to look at our van because we were planning to leave on a family roadtrip for the weekend. We discovered that not only is the radiator leaking (which we already knew) but the water pump was leaking too. No van for the roadtrip. Had to rent a car.

Today, he tells me that he isn’t quite sure what’s wrong with the car, but it’s at least an $800 timing chain fix just for starters, with more probable engine damage to address after that. So I’ve got two cars in the shop, and my youngest daughter placed 2nd with her team at the event for which we took the roadtrip, which qualifies them to compete at the Global Finals in Tennessee! Another Two-Grand there. And I have no idea where this money is going to come from.

Pile on top of that things are not peachy at work, my roof needs to be replaced, my yard is full of weeds… it adds up.

And then Mr. Mandino reminds me to count my blessings. And he does it in a unique way. I was expecting the usual list of family, health, job, etc., which are all good. But then he throws in a bit more detail, such as my eyes. And my hands and limbs. How much would I sell any one of those for, he asks? A million? Two million? And what about the fact that we live in this great Country of ours? Sure, it’s not perfect, but it’s home and would I really want to live anywhere else? And that’s just the starting line. There are so many more blessings I can count. And by doing so, the problems shrink back to their rightful sizes–just minor challenges that need solutions.

Thanks, Og. I needed that.

How about you? What are some of the blessings you can count in your life?

For your advantage,

Brian

 

Please add to the discussion--Your thoughts are welcome...

