Stewardship in Real Life, Episode 1

Taking things (and people) for granted is not good stewardship. You can do better. Just be a little more intentional.

jacob dad yosemite 2016

“Blessed to be overlooking Yosemite valley”

I had the privilege of being a chaperone for my youngest son’s field trip to Yosemite National Park yesterday. I am embarrassed to say that I don’t think I’ve been to Yosemite since I was in high school. Millions of people come from around the world to see this majestic park and I take it for granted.

Fortunately, some people of vision designated it a national park over 125 years ago so that we could enjoy it today. It was designated as a National Park in 1890. But prior to that, none other than President Lincoln sent a bill to Congress in 1864 stating that “the lands be held “…for public use, resort, and recreation…inalienable for all time.”

This was truly an act of stewardship and vision. And it paved the way for Yosemite to receive the National Park designation, third behind Yellowstone and Sequoia.

As I reflected on that, it was a powerful reminder that I am a steward of my son who was with me, and of his siblings as well. I feel blessed that I could enjoy that trip with him. It was so fun to watch him run around and experience the deer we saw, the waterfalls we hiked to, and the museums we explored. And he thanked me at least three times for taking him! I was the one who should have been thanking him, for letting me be a chaperone.

Plus, I got to help him start to break in his new hiking boots, which will be put to the test this August when we set out to summit Mt. Whitney together.

My reflections also reminded me that I need to not take my time with him for granted, like I have with Yosemite in my back yard. I need to make the most of the time I have with him, whether that’s playing or teaching or guiding. God has entrusted me with his development, just as much as his protection and provision.

It can be easy to justify reasons for working or doing other things as part of my responsibilities for providing for him and protecting him. But I need to remember that his character and soul are my responsibility, too, and that requires investments of time and attention.

And so, rather than work on my task list earlier tonight, I decided to just watch him practice with this soccer team. I want him to know he’s important to me. Sometimes that just means being present.

For your advantage,

Brian

How have you carved out some special time for each of your kids lately? I look forward to collecting new ideas. Please share in the comments below.

Please add to the discussion--Your thoughts are welcome...

