Defeat is an event, not an identity

We can feel defeated, but it doesn’t mean we have to stay that way.

A few years ago I had applied for a job that would have been a promotion. It was my third time trying for this job. The first time, I was told I wasn’t qualified because I didn’t yet have my Master’s degree. The second time, the person who was in the position in an interim capacity sabotaged my application. And the third time, my immediate supervisor at the time, as well as her boss whom I thought would support me, BOTH undermined me. Even after I had approached them with my desire to change positions and had expected their support. Instead, they kicked me to the curb and held me back. I felt betrayed. And frustrated. And defeated.

As I was driving home from a work-related trip to northern California, I was reflecting on this chain of events and I literally cried out to God in my car: “God–who can I trust in this organization??!!” I received an answer immediately within my spirit. It was so clear and so quick, that it was almost audible. He said, “Don’t worry about them. Just trust Me.” I was immediately at peace.

I am feeling defeated again today, and I promise that it is not related to the election or anything political. The timing of this post is purely coincidental. I promise.

And so I am reflecting on that time when God reminded me that He is in control and that He can be trusted. He promises us in His Word that He “will never leave us nor forsake us.” (Hebrews 13:5). He also promises us that He will “work all things together for good for those who love Him.” (Romans 8:28) And God always keeps His promises.

Finally, He destroyed the curse of sin–i.e. death, the ultimate defeat–through his resurrection so that we could also be spared that ultimate defeat and have eternal life with Him.

The takeaway is that even though we may feel defeated, defeat itself is not permanent. It is an event–and we do not need to allow it to define us.

For your advantage,

Brian

Please add to the discussion--Your thoughts are welcome...

