5 Steps to less thinking, more doing…

Thinking about doing stuff isn’t the same as actually doing stuff.

I struggle with analysis paralysis quite a bit. I’ve gotten better over the years, but my logical, analytical thought processes tend to delay me in taking action. I want to look at the situation from every angle and try to make sure that when I do finally take action, I am doing it in the most efficient and effective steps possible.

For example, we were planning to paint the family room in our new home and we purchased a paint sprayer. I’ve never used a sprayer before. This alone delayed me because I wanted to make sure I read the instructions and understood how to operate it correctly before starting. I also realized that more masking and coverage of floor and furniture would be required and so I started working on that. After I had painstakingly covered our windows, I still needed to cover the floors and furniture. And some DIY websites suggested masking the ceiling and ceiling fan, too. In my head, I knew that taking the time to do all that would result in time-savings by using the sprayer, but it started to seem like in the end, it wouldn’t really be much different time-wise than just using a roller and brush. After several days of prepping and thinking and thinking and prepping, I scrapped the sprayer and went back to roller and brush. And got the room painted in one day.

Would a sprayer have been faster? Maybe, at least with the painting portion. But I felt I still had at least a day of masking and covering everything before I even got the sprayer out. Possibly longer.

The point is that once I made the decision, I got it knocked out relatively quick. That probably would have been true for the sprayer too, had I just made the decision to use it instead of trying to weigh the pros and cons and being on the fence between it and the roller.

So, here are the five steps to less thinking, more doing.

  1. Determine the objective or outcome you want
  2. Determine the options or choices in front of you
  3. Determine the pros and cons of each
  4. Decide which option is the best for you and others involved and impacted
  5. Decide to act on that option–and then take action

Going through these steps can lead to being more decisive and, more importantly, getting more done.

For your advantage,

Brian

Please add to the discussion--Your thoughts are welcome...

