How many days do YOU have?

Do you know how many days you have been alive?

I’m on my second lap with the book 20,000 Days and Counting by Robert D. Smith. It is very thought-provoking and challenging. The basic premise is to celebrate each day that we have been given, to live with intention and purpose. Smith says “I know I will die, but I do not know how long I will live.” (p.13) Therefore, we should treat each day as a gift and use it to bless others, celebrate others and ourselves, and always be asking ourselves what’s most important right now.

We live in a culture that is often under the “Tyranny of the Urgent”, where urgent tasks get priority attention over important tasks. A good example is the ringing of the phone in the middle of a family dinner. The phone rings, loud and shrill, crying urgently and demanding our attention. It could be an important call, but usually it can wait. The family dinner is (hopefully) quiet and peaceful and enjoyable. A time of fellowship with loved ones. It’s not shrill or demanding. It’s not urgent. But it is inestimably important.

I found a website with a time calculator. At http://www.timeanddate.com you can plug in any two dates (like a birthday and today) and it will spit out the number of days in between. By the grace of God, I’ve been alive for over 17,000 days so far. But I don’t think I’ve “lived” all those days. Would that I could go back and have a second chance at some of those. Resolved today that I will truly live more of them going forward.

For your advantage,

Brian

PS–I appreciate you and the time you’ve invested reading this far. You are important, just because you exist. You are valuable and you have worth. Don’t underestimate yourself nor take for granted each day that you’ve been given.

Please add to the discussion--Your thoughts are welcome...

